Environmental Media & Environmentalist of the Year Awards 2014

31 Jul 14

SAB Environmental Media and Environmentalist of the Year Awards Revised Categories and Increased Prize Money.

The annual SAB Environmental Media and Environmentalist of the Year Awards has returned for its 26th year to reward those who excel in their reportage of all current environmental matters with revised categories and overall category winners receiving R25, 000 each.

Robyn Chalmers, Head of Corporate Communications at SAB says these changes are to keep in line with the commitment SAB made to keep the awards in line with best global practice, listening in to the feedback received from the environment media in South Africa and ensuring the Awards are reflective of both the local and global media landscape.

In the spirit of staying true to this commitment, the ongoing evolution of the competition continued this year with a call to revisit the awards’ categories, based primarily on the increase in the digital media space.

Robyn Chalmers, Head of Corporate Communications at SAB says, “After consulting with thought leaders, influencers, judges and other members of the media, SAB made the decision to review and revise the categories to ensure that the Awards remain relevant to the Industry they award. This discussion originated through feedback we received from the Industry and we’re thrilled to be able to announce our revised categories for this year.”


The categories for the SAB Environmental Media and Environmentalist of the Year 2014 are as follows:

  • Written Media Award (Print and Online)
  • Photography Award (Print and Online)
  • Video Media Award (Television and Online)
  • Audio Media Award (Radio and Online)
  • The Macqubu Ntombela and Ian Player Cub Award for environmental journalists with less than two years' experience in the Industry.
  • Nick Steele Memorial Award for the Environmentalist of the Year.

The prestigious “SAB Environmentalist of the Year” award is once again one of the cornerstones of these Awards and SAB is asking members of the public and media to register through its online portal to send through their nominations for the Environmentalist of the Year.

“These Awards are always a great opportunity for us as SAB to engage with the environmental media and other stakeholders around the same key environmental issues that are important to us all; this year will be no exception, ” conclude Chalmers.

To enter:

Entrants should submit work produced between 1st September 2013 and 31st August 2014 through the Online Awards portal at www.sabenviromedia.co.za

Entries open at 08:00am on Monday 4th August 2014 and close at 17:00 on Friday, 5th September 2014. Winners will be announced at an awards’ luncheon on Wednesday, 22nd October 2014 at the Country Club of Johannesburg

For more information please visit: www.SABenviromedia.co.za

Follow the awards on twitter: #SABenviromedia14