All the winners of the #SABEnviroMedia 2015

21 Oct 15

SAB Environmental Media and Media Environmentalist of the Year 2015 Winners

Yesterday the South African Breweries, together with a panel of renowned judges within the media industry, announced the winners of the annual SAB Environmental Media and Media Environmentalist of the Year awards at Summer Place in Sandton.

The Awards, in their 27th year, aim to recognize the excellence of South African journalists who are reporting on and creating awareness of environmental issues.

“The annual Awards have grown over the years and we are especially pleased with the caliber of entries we received this time round, ” says Robyn Chalmers, Head of Corporate Communications at SAB.

The winners for the 2015 SAB Environmental Media and Media Environmentalist of the Year, under the below categories, are:

Written Media Award (Print and Online)

WINNER: Sheree Bega, Saturday Star


SPECIAL MENTION: Jeffrey Burbee, Freelance

Photography Award (Print and Online)

WINNER: Stefan Heunis, AFP

SPECIAL MENTION: Susan Scott, Freelance

Video Media Award (Television and Online)

WINNER: Hermien Roelvert, 50/50

MERIT WINNER: Joy Summers, Carte Blanche

MERIT WINNER: Monique Mortlock, EWN


Audio Media Award (Radio and Online)


MERIT WINNER: Minoshni Pillay, SABC (DBN)

Nick Steele Memorial Award for the Enviromentalist of the Year

WINNER: John Masson, LBD Biodiversity

The Magqubu Ntombela and Ian Player Cub award

WINNER: Bertus Louw, 50/50

“We at SAB would like to congratulate all the entrants who submitted work that grabbed the attention of their readers and our panel of judges. We also wish our winners congratulations on their amazing achievement”, says Chalmers.


See what happened on Twitter at #SABEnviroMedia.